#47 – Battleship

When: Sunday, October 7, 2012

With Who: All Alooooooone

Where: At Home

How: Redbox DVD

Why: Wanted to check it out in the theater, but didn’t get a chance

 

Oh, I know you know. And you know that I know you know.

So before I watched this movie I felt disappointed. The movie didn’t make a lot money or didn’t do as well as expected, I forget which one.

My understanding was that it wasn’t that good.

At first, I didn’t argue. I mean this thing has some dialogue that my six year old could have written at first. But we don’t watch movies like this for the dialogue, now do we?

My thoughts:

  • Why do people find Rhianna to be so fine and sexy? I’m a hetero male and I don’t find her to be all that. I’m sorry. I just don’t.
  • Example of that great dialogue: “You’re a chicken. A Kentucky Fried Chicken”. Excuse me while I go have a moment. That brought a tear to my eye.
  • The special effects were second to none on this one. Worth the film itself.
  • I’m sick of aliens coming to Earth to dominate with power beyond our abilities but also with very stupid limitations. Can destroy our ships but can’t handle the sun? Really?
  • And why would they not be able to handle the sun when their planet is three planets from the sun like ours, as described in the beginning?
  • Liam Neeson is awesome. He is one of my favorite actors. He is very underused in this film.
  • SERIOUSLY! Why do people want to put very important dialogue in the hands of someone with a massive accent. I love Christopher Nolan films (Batman Series, Inception, Memento) but in Inception he put important info in the hands of a man I couldn’t understand. This movie was no different. A Japanese guy gave us some very very important info in the middle of this film as to how they would fight the aliens…. I have no idea what the hell he said! Not even close!
  • Ok don’t front. You know you enjoyed the old dudes as much as I did. Tell me they weren’t the second highlight of the film….after the effects of course.

I had fun. No more, no less. I had a blast. I wasn’t thinking about Oscar winning performances, writing, directing or anything else. I just put in the DVD, pressed play and had fun. If you can do that, you’ll have fun too.

13 to go……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment