Turbo

TurboWhen: Sunday, January 12, 2014

With Who: My Baby Girl

Where: The Crib

How: Netflix DVD

Synopsis: A Snail follows his aspirations of being an Indy 500 racer…..yes, seriously.

Never heard of this movie? Click here for more info.

I have always been of the thinking that movies don’t have to be/shouldn’t be realistic. The whole point of a movie is to escape real life, even if only for a couple of hours.

Animated films really tend to test my theory. Only with those kinds of flicks do we get to travel under the sea to talking sea animals, even with short term memory loss. Only there can you attach a bunch of balloons to your house and ride it as it floats away. Only in animated flicks can monsters be likable or Penguins sing and dance.

I’ve learned that maybe, just maybe, even with animated flicks there are limits. Understanding that movies aren’t based on reality is good. But I’m not sure how I feel about a snail competing in the Indy 500. I mean, even with imagination that’s weird right?

The movie was funny. It was entertaining. But it took a lot for me to get past the stupidity of the concept. I really did enjoy the message though. I enjoyed watching it with my daughter. The message was great. Follow your dreams and despite the fact that you will meet opposition along the way (even from those closest to you), stay on the path and follow your heart. My daughter, unfortunately, didn’t get the same message (more on that shortly).

My thoughts:

  • I remember thinking as I was watching this movie that this concept could have been used for any slow creature. Sure a snail is naturally slow, so you get the contrast. But so are other things. Turtles, Roaches, Ants, Beetles, etc. All would have been equally as dumb in the course of the film.
  • Why the Indy 500? A snail getting quick speed could be an anomaly regardless of the setting. It could be street racer or maybe a regular racer. Maybe a crime fighter. Or maybe…..wait, a crime fighter? Never mind. There’s really no place to add normality to this so why not? Why not the Indy 500.
  • Thank you Dreamworks. Thank you for not giving the snail the ability to speak to humans. That would be, ya know, weird.
  • Many of the scenes in the film really made me want tacos.
  • Right now as I type this I want tacos.
  • About that lesson from my daughter. I asked her if she learned anything from watching the film. She said “mmmm, never talk to snails who are fast and can talk?”. Yeah baby, close.
  • Seriously. Anybody have any tacos?

For the most part the film had a lot of heart. If you can get past some of the irony in the film you’ll enjoy it. It did a great job of attempting to create normality within itself with perhaps the understanding that this subject is pretty weird. I don’t regret watching it. And I enjoyed the sound of my daughter laughing at quite a few of the scenes. If you can understand the fact that one of the slowest creatures on Earth is competing in one of the fastest competitions known to man, you’ll be good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

