#53 – Looper

Looper

When: Friday, November 30, 2012 (I know, I know)

With Who: Solo

Where: The Marina

How: For FREE at the AMC Dine In Theater. Read my blog about my entire unique experience here

Why: Was on my list of movies I wanted to see…and it was FREE

 

Never heard of this movie? Check out more info here

This is a chance for me to talk about the movie. In that blog I detailed everything about the experience, and I thought that experience was awesome.

The danger of me doing this so long after watching the movie is that the memories aren’t as crisp. But I still remember things.

I remember this movie wasn’t anything like I thought it was. After I came to grips with that, the movie took me on a roller coaster. It had every opportunity to be one of my favorite movies ever, but every time I thought that, it turned around and did something to make me roll my eyes (babies? really?).

It’s not a horrible movie. You just really have to have an open mind and imagination. The problem is if you don’t know that going in to it, you may be disappointed.

My thoughts:

  • I liked Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Inception, the first movie I ever saw him in. His role was funny, intelligent and valuable. I think it deceived me into thinking he could act. Since that movie, he’s starred in this movie and the Dark Knight Rises and I swear I can’t tell the difference between his performances in any of the films.
  • And why does he think that monotone voice is perfect for every movie he does? To me he always sounds like he just woke up from a nap. No emotion, no concern, nothing but a snoozer.
  • Exactly how old is Bruce Willis?
  • Ironically they showed the trailer to Die Hard on Tuesdays Before You’re Killed on Your Own Because You Have Bullets Too….or whatever Die Hard 5 is called. I couldn’t help but think that it has to be the end of John McClane. He’s too old to be a believable cop anymore. You remember in the beginning of the first one when he told the guy on the plane, “Relax, I’m a cop. Trust me, I’ve been doing it for 11 years”. Ok seriously, if he was a cop for 11 years then…
  • Bruce Willis should stop wearing lipstick when getting made up for the screen….period!
  • Babies? Really?

It wasn’t a bad film. It wasn’t bad at all. Wasn’t great. Just different. Give it a shot when it comes on video. I saw it for free so I might have gone a little easier on it because of that. But still, I don’t think I would have hated it even if I paid full price.

7 to go…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

