#34 – TED

When: Thursday, July 26, 2012

With Who: Me and about 15 strangers in the theater

Where: Burbank, AMC 16

How: One of those nice little silver passes from a previous Groupon deal. Been looking for it again. Can’t find it.

Why: From the trailer the movie looked frickin’ hilarious

 

Oh you’ve heard of it. But in case I’m wrong or you forgot, check this out.

When I first saw the trailer for this one I laughed. I wanted to see it. Wasn’t sure if I would get to it in the theater, but I wanted to see it.

Then a couple of things happened.

First, a friend of mine, Andre Coleman, got on Facebook talking about how he didn’t know what Mark Wahlberg was thinking in doing this film; how it looked bad.

Second, the movie made $54 million it’s opening weekend. Apparently I wasn’t the only one who thought it looked funny.

And Ted didn’t disappoint. But only if you’re an adult. Despite the main character being a Teddy Bear, this movie is NOT for kids. No doubt Rated R and with good reason.

But that doesn’t mean it’s short on laughs. The kind of story that’s extremely improbable and yet that’s one of the things you love about it. At one point I found myself both excited and surprised at the creativity behind the film. Funny is one thing….clever is another.

That is not to say this film is not without it’s faults. There’s was one big one in particular in my opinion. But overall, you can’t sweat the small stuff. Sooooo….

My thoughts:

  • I don’t know why, but all movie I couldn’t help the feeling that the girl playing Wahlberg’s gf was his real life wife. It wasn’t. It was someone named Rhea Durham. But for some reason, I kept seeing in my mind’s eye, I kept seeing Mila Kunis. I don’t know why either.
  • Seth MacFarlane voices Ted. I was surprised to see that he was also the writer of the script as well as the Director of the film.
  • Seth MacFarlane voices Stewie Griffin on Family Guy. In a lot of ways Ted is a more vulgar Stewie Griffin. I’m not mad at him for finding his calling. Admittedly, I’ve never watched Family Guy. Might just start.
  • Patrick Warburton has a small part in this film. For the rest of my life he will always be known as Kronk in Disney’s animated film The Emperor’s New Groove. Don’t ask. But my sister knows what I mean. “Riiiiiiiight”
  • Didn’t buy for a second that the boss was interested in Mila Kunis. She was far from the most attractive girl in the office.
  • The one part I had a problem with is toward the end. This film is CLEARLY a comedy. So why toward the end would you try to get serious. It goes against the grain of the spirit of the film. I thought it was laughable. A film willing to make so many sexual innuendo jokes should NOT take itself so seriously.
  • There are certain things you can’t ignore. Regarding Seth MacFarlane, here is actual text printed from trivia on the internet: Was supposed to board the first plane which crashed into the Twin Towers on September 11th, but he missed his flight due to his travel agent giving him the wrong departure time. I don’t care who you are. When you think that if things went according to how they were initially presented , we would never have had this movie you have got to see a higher power at work here. Whatever it may be.

I had a blast on this film; except toward the end. Sometimes you can find yourself accepting the impossible if it’s presented to you in a nice bow. I never took Ted seriously. Because of that, it was fun. I suggest you never take it seriously either.

26 to go……

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

