#33 – Brave

When: Saturday, July 7, 2012

With Who: My five year old baby girl

Where: Burbank AMC

How: AMC Silver Pass. Hey did you know that if you have a Silver Pass and want to see a movie in the first ten days (when the Silver Pass isn’t valid), you just pay $1.50 with the pass and you can see it anyway? Cool!

Why: My baby wanted to see it, of course

 

If you’re like me and have no idea what this movie is about before seeing it, click here.

You know, I have to hand it to Disney. They are capable of taking ANY scenario and turning it in to a story. An intriguing story at that.

I had an strange combination as I watched the film, thinking it was both odd and intriguing at the same time.

In that, I’m mostly referring to the main plot. The beginning of the film was light and ‘Disney-ish’ as you would expect. But Disney is very interested in imagination and let’s just say, well, this one took a lot.

I wondered to myself “are they really going to take this concept and run with it?”. Yep, they did.

Still, I found myself interested. Curious as to how it would all work. It was predictable – as all Disney films are if you’ve ever seen one – but we watch for the how, not the what.

Anyway, my thoughts:

  • We did not see the 3D version because my daughter doesn’t like wearing glasses for 90+ minutes. Plus she’s scared of her own shadow. No exception here. First thing she told me when I asked her if she liked it was that it scared her. Granted only about a grand total of four or five minutes of it could actually be considered scary, but to my baby if one part is scary the whole movie is too scary to watch ever again.
  • There were funny parts. Particularly the main character’s three little brothers. They were funny. But I didn’t think they were as funny as the two ladies sitting behind us who were pretty much on the floor laughing so hard. Um, yeah.
  • All characters at Scottish accents. Took some getting used to. But then I realized that their accents had absolutely nothing to do with the story anyway. So who cares?
  • With my review of The Avengers, I pointed out how I always find it funny that the villains in any movie generally have to be equal to the level of the hero. In this case it was more obvious because it was coincidental that the hero would happen to have someone in their corner who happened to be a perfect fight for the villain. Amazing how that works.
  • I think this movie wanted to be called Braveheart, but ya know, that was already taken. Mel Gibson’s character (though, no, not Mel himself) from that movie has a big role in this film. When/If you see it you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Overall, I enjoyed it. I saw it mainly for my daughter and usually films like these are in her hands. If she likes it, we get the DVD when it comes out. If she doesn’t, we don’t. I don’t think we’ll be paying much attention to this film when it’s able to be brought home, but still I don’t feel like I wasted any time in watching it.

27 to go……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

