#26 – Hop

When: Wednesday, May 23, 2012

With Who: My wife and daughter

Where: At The House

How: Redbox

Why: Because our daughter is 5 and there aren’t too many things she can see. Had a family hangout session, but mom fell asleep. Haha

You know what to do.

Well this one wasn’t by my personal choice but if I had to sit through an hour and a half with a grown manchild and a talking bunny with an accent, you can best believe I was going to take the credit for this challenge.

Ok it was cute. I even found myself laughing at a few parts.  More parts than I thought I would.

I didn’t know the premise of the movie going in to it. It didn’t matter. I was just going to watch a movie with my little girl. The premise of the movie, well, it touches on some valid “life” points but then it loses me in it’s decision. Kinda hard to say without knowing who has seen it and who hasn’t and I don’t want to spoil it in case any of you are going to watch it one day with your child as your wife falls asleep. But let’s just say, I didn’t like the outcome at the end. I didn’t believe it. Even for a movie that included talking bunnies.

My Thoughts:

  • I don’t like Russell Brand. There is just something about him that I’ve always found odd. I didn’t know he was a comedian. Because comedians are usually, ya know, what’s that word? Oh yeah, funny! But he’s just odd. And I thought this before he married that woman who was at the MTV Awards with a block of cheese on her head. Irreconcilable differences my ass.
  • There was a defiant bunny and at one point, there were three female bunnies chasing him. He was musically talented and wanted to make music professionally. The bunny befriends a human with a kind heart for animals. Tell me how this is different from the Alvin and The Chipmunks films.
  • My daughter is an avid ‘Alvin and nem’ fan. So it’s no surprise that she absolutely loved this movie.
  • Still can’t get over the revelation of what the guy (the human) decided he wanted to do with his life. Seriously?

It ran about 15 minutes too long for young children. My baby was getting restless, this despite actually being engaged in the film. But overall, it was ok.

Regardless, spending time with your little one is always worth it. No matter if you like the movie (or the people in it) or not.

34 to go…..

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #26 – Hop

  1. Bubbawheat says:

    I’m pretty sure I watched this movie with the same amount of zero knowledge going into it and it was a pleasant surprise. I could be wrong, but I thought the big twist wasn’t that much of a twist, and I also think it might have been revealed in trailers. I didn’t think it was completely ridiculous, but more of an unexpected surprise, something you don’t often see in movies like this. And my daughter liked it pretty well, but it didn’t stick with her for very long like other movies tend to do.

    • shadrock2k says:

      SPOILER ALERT! IF YOU’VE NEVER SEEN THIS MOVIE, STOP READING.
      The ending I was talking about was about the guy realizing he wanted to be the Easter Bunny. I didn’t like that. I also didn’t like how suddenly his dad was proud of him, kinda creating the implication that unless you become the Easter Bunny or Santa in real life, you’ve failed. But I don’t think it was a complete waste as far as the movie as a whole. It wasn’t bad. It just kinda lost me with the finale. My daughter loved it too, time will tell if she continues to love it or if it falls off her radar. If she loves a movie, she will watch it until the dvd pushes itself out and says it can’t take it anymore.

      • Bubbawheat says:

        Yeah, I’m pretty sure I knew the twist going into the movie, but I’m not sure if it was from a half-remembered trailer, or just something I heard on a podcast. The last movie that my daughter was obsessed with was 9. This one was forgotten after a couple days.

      • shadrock2k says:

        The movie is called 9?

      • Bubbawheat says:

        Yeah, it’s just called 9. It’s rather dark for most 5 year olds, so I wouldn’t watch it with your family blindly. It’s a Tim Burton produced stop motion-like movie.

      • shadrock2k says:

        Ah, Tim Burton. Say no more. I won’t watch it with my five year old but I may check it out. She watched parts of Alice in Wonderland and freaked. Thanks for the movie drop

Leave a comment