#21 – The Dilemma

When: Friday, May 4, 2012

With Who: All About Me

Where: At The House

How: Netflix DVD

Why: Because. Well, see, what had happened….Actually, I don’t know.

 

 

If you’ve read any of the write-ups on the 21 films I’ve seen, you know what to do.

First let me say that I’m working my way back into film watching rhythm. I haven’t watched a new film in a while, mostly thanks to the NBA Playoffs. But if I wait for that to be over, I’ll really get behind.

Now, as far as The Dilemma. It was OK.

I say that mainly because I was confused about the film’s genre.

Whenever you see Kevin James in a film, your mind jumps not only to comedy; but a lot of physical, slapstick comedy. Which if you’ve ever read this blog you know I’m not a fan of. Paul Blart: Mall Cop, Zookeeper, Grown Ups, etc, means I was expecting the same thing.

Vince Vaughn does mostly comedies too. I guess you can say his role in the ever popular Wedding Crashers solidified his popularity in such films.

So I was expecting that kind of film with this one. I assumed that maybe I can get a laugh or two, hopefully, despite not finding most of the film funny.

But what I got was a film confused about its own identity.

Was it a romantic comedy or a screwball comedy?

The answer is Yes. And I don’t think that was intentional.

I believe it wanted to be a more serious film; attacking issues such as spousal monogamy (or lack thereof), true friendship, finding your true potential, etc.

However, I think the casting of James and Vaughn was cause to meet expectations of the comedy; silly dance routines, an overly sensitive male home-wrecker, Queen Latifah’s over the top sexual innuendo.

We’re all confused. My thoughts:

  • Does Vince Vaughn ever really want to be considered a serious actor?
  • Is Queen Latifah hard up for Hollywood work to take such an arbitrary part? She’s an Oscar Nominee for crying out loud.
  • I did like the realism of the ending. Sometimes certain things aren’t always rosy and happily ever after.
  • The guy who played the overly sensitive male home-wrecker looked awfully familiar to me during the film. I searched his film list and discovered I remembered him from playing Jason Lyle in one of my favorite films, Coach Carter.
  • I was cheering against the goal that Kevin James shot in the last scene because I didn’t want it to end on a cliche. One could only dream.

I don’t feel as though I wasted my life watching this film, so why not? Go for it. It’s not hilarious. But it’s not boring either. In fact, I would argue that the acting was above average by comparison to most ordinary relationship films.

But don’t get it confused, I am not lobbying for this films Oscar Nomination.

39 to go….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TU8JFk7aXyA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

