#20 – Think Like A Man

When: April 20, 2012

With Who: My Mom

Where: AMC Rolling Hills  20, Torrance, CA

How: At The Movies

Why: My mom asked me to go see it with her. Didn’t want to. But will always hang out with my mom.

Don’t know much about this movie?

Ok, here is where things get a little fuzzy for me. Sometimes there is no difference between Hater and Honesty. But that is not always evident.

To be honest, I have higher standards for most things. This is not limited to films and it’s certainly not limited to African American films. This is life in general. My standards for myself are even high.

My complaint with movies like this would take an entire book to highlight. But the basic point is that it’s redundant.

This film is based on a book by comedian Steve Harvey called ‘Act Like A Lady, Think Like A Man’.

Steve Harvey is a business man and a comedian. He is not Dr Steve Harvey. He just has an opinion. Much like in this film, many people began to take this stuff seriously. They treated as a guide to relationships.

But it was just entertainment. That’s it. Nothing more, nothing less.

I think Steve Harvey knows this. Do you think he really thinks this is a serious situation? The fact that he doesn’t can be proven by one simple thing….the existence of this film.

How many Dr Ruth books have been made in to films? How many Dr Phil cases can be made in to movies? And notice how both of those people have the moniker DOCTOR that precedes their name.

Back to the movie; I could completely care less about my label of a “hater”. Who cares what anyone calls you because you have an opinion? It’s an overused word used most often by people who can’t think of a more intelligent argument so they end the discussion with the obvious.

But in this case, perhaps the issue is confused. Why shouldn’t I demand for something to be more entertaining? More creative? That’s not generic money I’m shelling out for the film, why not expect more effort in the film-making.

It’s my problem with Tyler Perry Films. Hell, it’s my problem with Jason Statham movies. They are all exactly the same and that’s a problem for me.

Steve Harvey saw his book fly off the shelf in to the wonderful world of success. Congrats. No problem. Entertain as you should. But when the film comes out and follows the usual African American film outline, you best believe this so-called hater will call you out.

I won’t get stuck in mediocrity. I won’t go support sub-standard work. I don’t care if you’re black, white, yellow, purple, orange or green.

If you have ever seen a film released in 2000 called The Brothers, then you should be livid at this film, Think Like A Man.

Why? Because it’s exactly the same movie. Different characters. Different words spoken. Same outline.

In fact, some of that films actors are also in this film. Gabrielle Union, Morris Chestnut and Jennifer Lewis.

Why shouldn’t someone point it out? Why am I wrong for demanding you come up with a better script 12 years following The Brothers since you’re asking for more money? Why shouldn’t I point out that African American films only seem to be Romantic Comedies? Why shouldn’t I challenge you to come up with something, anything more creative?

Perhaps if I sent fake money I would get their attention.

Anyway, my thoughts:

  • Why do all African American comedies have to center around the most attractive people they can find in the black actor community? Ugly people can act too. They may also provide a fresh perspective. Or what about average looking people? At this point I’d even accept a beauty and the beast type film. Even in Tyler Perry films, they may have a women who is not interested in a man because he has a job that is not that of a CEO. But he seems to always be good looking. Is that all there is to being a black actor? Be good looking?
  • On that note, there is always a scene or two where said good looking guy(s) have their shirt off, and it’s usually for no reason whatsoever. I know I know, I’m hating right? Sure. I mean it must not be a valid point right? That’s because you have no other argument. So call me a hater and keep it pushing.
  • It took me some time but I figured out why that guy that dated Meagan Good in this film looked so familiar. He played MC Hammer in the film about his life.
  • Why is it that the only guy in the film who understood the concept of marriage and broke that concept down to his friends at the table of a restaurant was a white guy? Was that intentional in a film about black people?
  • Watch for Steve Harvey connected cameo’s in this film, including: Nephew Tommy, Jay Anthony Brown, and Terri J Vaughn, better known as Levita on the tv program The Steve Harvey Show.
  • Kevin Hart is funny. I’m a fan. I went to his last stand-up live in LA that was made into the film Laugh At My Pain. But perhaps because of my feeling that all of these films follow the formula of having at least one comedian, I found this part for him (and especially his voice over) to be buffoonish. And if you weren’t so quick to point me out as a hater, you might see what I’m talking about.
  • Few things are more uncomfortable than watching a film or watching a stand up performance live with your MOTHER when the subject of sex comes up. But it seems to always do just that when I go see something with her. Could they please knock that off? Gracias
  • Taraji Henson is a very underrated actress. Glad to see her oscar nom a few years ago for her role in The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Hope she is continues to be offered with quality roles.

Look, as always I will never suggest someone not go see a movie because a didn’t like it. Parts were funny. Parts were fun. Maybe I’m looking at it different because I’m cheering for African American films in Hollywood. But I won’t go see a film because of that. There are millions of topics on this Earth. No need to keep telling the same story over and over.

As soon as African American films can “branch out”, the sooner they can become more successful.

40 to go…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

