Seven Films I Can’t Wait To See This Year (Including Trailers)

Here we are at nearly a third of the year done while I am nearly a third of the challenge done.

While there are plenty of great movies that have come out so far this year, with the big summer hits ready to drop on our heads I think the best is yet to come.

And I’ve selected seven. Seven films that have not yet dropped but their release can’t get here fast enough for me.

In other words, you can bet your bottom dollar they will be on this challenge.

Now keep in mind that I’m a guy. A typical guy. So you won’t find any chick flicks or cartoons (although there are cartoons I will see with my daughter, and I love spending time with her but won’t put them on the top movies I’m looking forward to list). As always, this is a reminder this is a matter of personal opinion.

Don’t forget to click the links below the write-up to see watch the trailer of each movie. So here goes, in no particular order:

TAKEN 2

If you didn’t see the first one, I would recommend you watch it and definitely before you see the second one. Good movie. But the secret weapon is Liam Neeson. He has become one of my favorite actors and, quite honestly, he just doesn’t make bad movies. Look for this one to be no different. October 5, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hQheutKZKs

THE AVENGERS

The ironic thing here is that I’m not a comic book fan. I do like the comic book films in a lot of cases – though not all of them – but I don’t usually drool over them.

However, this one has the potential to be big. I’m curious to know how all of these characters will co-exist and be further developed without the film being 7 hours long. I’m also curious to know if it will be as good as it looks. May 5, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPoHPNeU9fc

MEN IN BLACK 3

I know, I know. No I have not forgotten how much more horrible the second one was following the brilliance and “comicalness” of the first. But I believe that neither have Senor’s Jones y Smith. Word was a few years ago that they both collectively came up with this story. Time will tell if that’s true and if it’s any better. Can you believe it’s been 15 years since the first? May 25, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2r9AIfYcV8

BATTLESHIP

Who sunk my Battleship? I find it ironic how that old cheesy, but very fun game, with the weak sounding ‘explosion’ could generate a film like this. But it, too, has the big (P)otential. Again we find a film with Liam Neeson so again I’ll point out he doesn’t do bad movies. And this looks just as good as any. I like films with insurmountable odds, because you wonder how they will get out of it; and hope that the way they do is not completely stupid.  May 18, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JpoabtbEJOI

GI JOE: RETALIATION

Like many others, I didn’t like the first one at all. In fact I don’t think I finished watching it. So when I found out they were making a sequel, I quickly brushed it off….then I saw the trailer.

Now I can’t wait. (In the trailer below, don’t miss the last two scenes. First one is an awesome fight scene and the last scene has a surprise cameo)  June 29, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2YMu52MfqA&feature=fvst

TOTAL RECALL

Duuude. Ok first off I’m a huge fan of the original “Ahnuld” version. That and T2: Judgement Day are my two all time favorite Governator movies. But this one right here; This version here looks like it will blow the first one out of the water. While the original was years ahead of its time, this one has the current technology that was just a dream with the first one. And Collin Farrell is a waaaay better actor than Ahnuld. August 3, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWMhADqlPYg

THE DARK KNIGHT RISES

This could arguably be the most anticipated film of the year for anyone who saw the first two. I actually love this series although I could be one of only a few, if any, who thought Batman Begins was better than The Dark Knight. Yet I find myself more curious than anything. How will this one stand on its own without the hype of Heath Ledger’s performance and unfortunate death in the shadows? Will the final chapter of this particular version of this series be the best of all or will it shrink faster than Batman’s huevos in that tight suit? Only time will tell. July 20, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXAzGGX2tpw

Honorable Mention:

Cabin In The Woods, 7500, Skyfall (New 007 Film)

And no, I didn’t forget about the Spider-Man film. It doesn’t appeal to me at all. I have no idea why.

What film(s) are you looking forward to the most in 2012?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven Films I Can’t Wait To See This Year (Including Trailers)

  1. excelsior07 says:

    No desire to see Will Smith play the Fresh Prince in another movie

Leave a Reply

