#11 – Moneyball

When: Tuesday, March 13, 2012

With Who: Alllll Alllooooonnnnne

Where: At The Casa

How: Netflix DVD

Why: Heard it was good

 

 

Just in case you need to know more about this film, you know what to do.

Once again I was confined to the house due to illness and Mother Nature was getting on my nerves.

Figured it was a good time to catch up.

I am a sports fan but I don’t follow baseball at all. I may peak in on the world series if I’m near a tv when it’s on, but that’s about it.

Still I can appreciate competition and have no problem understanding what I’m looking at if I’m watching baseball, I just don’t keep up with it.

With that being said, I had no idea what was going to happen in this film. If I don’t follow the sport now, I sure have no clue of what happened more than 10 years ago.

So this film worked for me. I wanted to know what would happen. How would it end? Would they win? Would they not?

The performances of the actors didn’t really move me. Knowing in advance of watching this film that both lead actors were nominated for an Oscar, as well as the movies, I was quite surprised.

While the performances weren’t horrible they weren’t what I would see as Oscar worthy.

Anyway, as always, my thoughts:

  • At what point will we admit that good friends George Clooney and Brad Pitt play every role the same? Is the movie world in love with their acting or with their faces?
  • I almost didn’t recognize Phillip Seymour Hoffman in this film. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.
  • Every time they mentioned or showed David Justice, all I could say was “Halle Berry’s Ex”. That’s actually more so how I know him.

Overall I thought this was a good movie. I was entertained throughout the film. But I’m not sure if anyone who is not a sports fan at all would appreciate it.

But then again I guess that’s why they got Brad “play every role the same” Pitt.

49 to go…..

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

