#5 – Super 8

WHEN: Thurs, Feb 9, 2012

WITH WHO: Riding Solo

WHERE: At The House

HOW: Netflix DVD

WHY: Heard It Was Good

 

 

Click here for the synopsis and more info on the movie

I honestly had no idea what to expect. I heard all these great things about the movie and I vaguely remembered the trailer from this movie last year. I had no idea who starred in it or what it was about.

But I did remember Steven Spielberg was advertised as Producer so I expected there to be some nice FX and that something associated with an alien would be involved.

And I was right about both.

I’m still waiting on the first GREAT movie of my challenge in 2012. At least great in my opinion, which usually goes far beyond 80% of the films nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars.

But this movie was entertaining. I remember thinking that it was very well done. They even paid attention to detail seeing that I belive this movie took place in the 70’s.

Anyway, my thoughts:

  • I had no idea that Dakota Fanning had a younger sister. I had no idea that Dakota Fanning had a younger sister who also acts. I had no idea that Dakota Fanning had a younger sister who also acts well.
  • Where is Dakota Fanning?
  • That chunky kid director was easily my favorite character.
  • I’m smart. I feel smart because I figured out who Dakota Fanning’s sister’s dad was in the movie before they revealed it. I guess I have a gift. Shhh, let me think what I want.
  • The “train scene” was waaay over the top, seemingly unrealistic, and one of the most fun scenes I’ve ever seen in a movie.
  • Why do these types of movies always take place in some rural, unpopulated area?

55 to go…….

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Feb Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

